How to Follow a Gluten-Free Diet

How to Follow a Gluten-Free Diet

Coeliac disease or Celiac disease is a disorder makes the person unable to ingest gliatin, a gluten protein found in wheat. People who suffer from Celiac disease are disallowed from eating food that contain gluten or wheat-based products. People with wheat allergies are also encouraged to follow a gluten-free diet. While a gluten-free diet may seem like an impossibility to many people, it can be a reality by just being observant and choosing what you eat.

Here’s how.

Avoid These Ingredients

Look at the nutrition label at the back of each product. Celiac disease sufferers typically cannot ingest barley, wheat, rye and there is still an ongoing debate about the acceptability of oats in the gluten-free diet. If you see these ingredients, along with some more to be mentioned, automatically remove them off your list.

  • Matzoh
  • Wheat
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Durum
  • Breading
  • Wheat gluten
  • Wheat starch
  • Malt
  • Soy sauce
  • Graham flour
  • Couscous
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Bran
  • Kamut
  • Farina
  • Bulgar
  • Modified food starch
  • Hydrolyzed vegetables and plant protein
  • Artificial flavor and coloring
  • Natural flavoring
  • Maltdextrings
  • Dextrins
  • MSG
  • Mono
  • DiglyceridesFood That Can Be Included

A gluten-free diet is also followed by health buffs for a reason. It forces you to be more discerning in your food choices. Here are some of the acceptable food items and ingredients for your gluten-free diet:

  • All vegetables
  • All fruits
  • All meats
  • All poultry
  • All fish
  • All eggs
  • Corn
  • Potatoes
  • Rice
  • Beans
  • Nuts
  • Seeds
  • Milk
  • Cheese
  • Yogurt
  • Rice
  • Soy
  • Amaranth
  • Pure buckwheat
  • Bean flour
  • Baked goods, pastries, pasta and bread can be made from acceptable gluten-free ingredients too. meaning you won’t miss out on many favorite food items.

There are gluten-free specialty shops as the awareness of Celiac disease arises. These specialty food are typically available in the supermarkets as well.
Going online is also a great way for Celiac disease sufferers to swap recipe ideas and sources for specific ingredients. There’s a wide online community out there just waiting for them.

Leave a Comment